Ramble On Sports

Where sports, pop culture and everything else collide.

So long and farewell

Posted by bdowd625 on November 17, 2009

Normally, I wouldn’t even comment on this, but since my girlfriend and her entire family are ardent Buffalo Bills supporters, I guess I’ll chip in with my two cents worth on the Dick Jauron firing. As anyone who reads this blog knows – and I thank you if you do – I’m a Patriots fan. The Jets and Dolphins are our sworn enemies within the AFC East. For some reason, though, my hatred has never extended to the Bills, so I’ve never cared if they did well. Conversely, it never really brought me any pleasure when they fell flat on their faces. I’ve always just been neutral about them.

But after listening to several members of her family vent about how pathetic the Bills are over the past two years, I can’t help but feel bad for them. From the four straight fruitless trips to the Super Bowl to the Terrell Owens signing and now Jauron getting canned, it’s easy to believe that this franchise is cursed. (I’m looking at you, Ralph Wilson.) I’ll be honest, Dick Jauron didn’t seem like a bad guy at all. But that team needs a serious kick in the pants and I don’t think they were getting it from him.

Now we’ll see if new head coach and former defensive coordinator Perry Fewell can turn this thing around. He’s never been a head coach at any level – never a good sign – but he’s got seven games left to see if he can make a good impression and get the ‘interim’ removed from his title. For the sake of Bills fans everywhere, I hope he does all right.

5 Responses to “So long and farewell”

  1. Buff1 said

    How about a package deal Mike (please note that I did not call him Michael) Vick and Tony Dungy to Buffalo. I live in Upstate NY and am Giants fan. I hold no animosity towards the Bills and for Bills fans thats almost bad. Someone says there a Bills fan and its almost pity. Better to hate them than to be neutral.
    Buffalo is not a bad place to be but the winter weather is tough – not seeing grads (and non grads for that matter)from Florida and Alabama and Texas chomping at the bit to play in snow.

  2. Jeff Evans said

    You don’t extend the hate because Buffalo has sucked for the last 10 years.

    I don’t expect much out of Fewell, he’s already said he’s going to keep the same offensive philosophy (and we all know how well it’s worked to this point). Not to mention he’s the coordinator of the defense that’s allowed an average of close to 200 yards rushing per game in the last 6 or 7 games.

    At this point for Bills fans, it’s like it always is in November, looking ahead to the offseason. Where hopefully, by the grace of god we can get a coach that has a career winning record.

  3. I came across your blog while on the WordPress.com front page. I’ve read through a few entries and I like your writing style. A friend and I have started a wordpress blog with a similar style, however we obviously don’t have your experience and readership. I wanted to comment on this entry specifically because we also wrote a short post about Jauron’s termination. Here’s the link: http://youblogtowinthegame.wordpress.com/2009/11/20/dick-jauron-got-fired-ralph-wilson-needed-a-proper-burial/.

    Just a note, I’m not doing this to drive up traffic or anything. We are literally just getting started and I wanted to get some recommendations and feedback from someone more experienced. Thank you very much and I look forward to reading more!

    • bdowd625 said

      Thanks for the comment! I write the majority of the stuff for this blog, but I’m not alone. I do have two other contributors. My best advice to you would be to just speak the truth and use humor. Everybody loves a good laugh. And as far as my readership goes, up until about 24 hours ago, this site was averaging only 25 people a day. So don’t give up, you can be successful.

      • Thanks! We’re mainly doing it for fun because we were bored and thought we had interesting things to say. No real goals other than that. If you clicked on the link to our site, you’ll read about my argument that Jauron was promoted/hired to the Bills position because he coached one of the more overrated teams of the past decade (2001 Bears). Let me know what you think, on that entry and on the site in general, if you get a minute to take a look. Thanks again for your response!

Leave a Reply

 
