Ramble On Sports

Where sports, pop culture and everything else collide.

Pats vs. Saints – Who ya got?

Posted by bdowd625 on November 30, 2009

Tonight the NFL finally gets the marquee Monday Night Football game it’s been shoving down our throats for the last two weeks: the 7-3 Patriots against the 10-0 Saints. New England versus New Orleans. Brady versus Brees. Clam chowder versus shrimp gumbo.

So how do these two teams match up? Good question.

Obviously, Tom Brady and Drew Brees are two of the top three quarterbacks in all of football right now. (Side note: Peyton Manning is the other guy in that trio, but lately I’m starting to think he’s not doing it by himself. Those damn officials will do anything to help the Colts catch a break.) Don’t be surprised to see an insane amount of offense tonight, especially since the Patriots defense still doesn’t have an identity. Some days the young secondary looks like a seasoned unit capable of shutting down anyone. Other times, the defensive backs look like little kids who aren’t ready to have their training wheels taken off. I fully expect Brees to tear them apart.

The New Orleans defense, meanwhile, has typically been stout this season, allowing only 204 points through 10 games. But Brady, much like Brees, can make even the best defenses look mediocre. I see another big game from our GQ cover boy, something to the tune of 350 passing yards and three touchdowns.

I’m predicting a 41-34 New England victory in this one, but, as I said before the Colts game, it wouldn’t shock me to see the Saints keep rolling with their 11th straight victory. It really is a toss-up between these two squads.

Some other predictions for tonight’s game:

*  Laurence Maroney fumbles again. I’ll leave it at that.

*  ESPN presents us with yet another Hurricane Katrina montage and shows how the Saints are still helping to rebuild New Orleans. I’m getting emotional already just thinking about it. Not.

*  We see a shot of Jon Gruden sitting with his legs spread wide open in the MNF booth. Enough with that already. It’s time to start acting more lady-like.

*  Reggie Bush attempts to pull off one of those ridiculous 75-yard touchdown runs where he jukes all 11 defenders and covers approximately 95 percent of the field’s surface area by cutting back and forth between sidelines. Except this isn’t college anymore, Reggie, so you end up getting laid out in the backfield for a 5-yard loss. Give my best to the Kardashians.

*  Wes Welker finishes with 137 catches for 4,695 yards.

Enjoy the game and check back after for some immediate analysis.

4 Responses to “Pats vs. Saints – Who ya got?”

  1. Jeff Evans said

    That’d be nice… Welker’s stats I mean. That’d help me win some fantasy games I think.

    But sorry buddy, I got the Saints tonight… 42-32.

  2. bdowd625 said

    Like I said before, Jeff, I could easily see that happening, too. I just find myself picking the Pats because I’d feel like a lousy fan if I didn’t.

  3. Jeff Evans said

    I don’t blame you. I pick the Bills every… ok… most weeks. As sad as that is, like you I feel like I have to. Atleast your team follows through most weeks.

  4. Uncle Dan said

    Reggie Bush is inactive tonite he must have got into one of the Kardishians backends last nite

Leave a Reply

 
