Ramble On Sports

Where sports, pop culture and everything else collide.

One win away

Posted by bdowd625 on December 20, 2009

First off, I have to admit that I was driving home from a weekend up in New Hampshire when the Patriots game was on today. I listened to the entire thing on the radio, but I didn’t feel totally comfortable blogging about it. Apparently some people are upset that I didn’t provide any analysis, so I will do my best for all you haters right now. (But seriously, thanks for reading and please continue to do so.)

As ugly as today’s win sounded, the victory leaves New England just one win away from getting back to the playoffs. The Dolphins and Jets both lost, with Miami falling to Tennessee on an overtime field goal and New York dropping another heartbreaker while Mark Sanchez did his best JaMarcus Russell impersonation. He may be the “future” of the Jets, but he still sucks plenty of ass in my book.

Back to the Patriots. Ths biggest concern, as has been the case all season, is that the offense comes out of the gate like gangbusters, and then tapers off as the game goes on. That happened once again today – the Patriots scored just three points after halftime – but the Bills are just bad enough that it doesn’t matter. (Sorry Kim, Jeff and every other Bills fan I know. Maybe you’ll get a good draft pick out of it.) So now New England is just one victory away from heading back to the postseason after a one-year hiatus. I’m not overly confident that the Pats are going to win the Super Bowl or anything, but I imagine no one wants to visit Gillette Stadium on Wild Card Weekend.

Now for some random thoughts from today’s game:

*  I would never, ever, under any circumstances, mess with Bills linebacker Paul Posluszny. I’m pretty sure that guy could snap me in half with his neck muscles. And he’ s even more intimidating in person. Trust me.

*  Randy Moss’ press conference after the game was hysterical. He basically told the media to shut the hell up in the politest way possible. And that beard? Guy looked like Kimbo Slice up there. Classic. He better not shave that thing until after the Pats get annihilated in San Diego or Cincinnati in the divisional round of the playoffs.

*  During the pregame show, the analysts on the radio talked about Tom Brady’s finger, rib, shoulder, head, ankle, knee and vagina injuries. Enough already. The guy is banged up a little bit. So is everyone else in the NFL right now. If he’s really that bad, keep him on the sidelines.

*  Laurence Maroney had another solid effort today. Nothing spectacular, but enough to keep the Bills defense off-balance and keep the chains moving. I think I’m going to leave him alone for a few weeks.

*  Either my radio coverage dipped out in certain places or Terrell Owens’ name wasn’t called once all game. Don’t worry Bills fans, he’ll be off to destroy another NFL city soon enough.

Leave a Reply

 
