Ramble On Sports

Where sports, pop culture and everything else collide.

Playoffs here we come

Posted by bdowd625 on December 27, 2009

For the second week in a row, I found myself in the car during the Patriots game. Maybe that’s not such a bad thing after all, as the Pats have now won consecutive games while I put more miles on my 2007 Honda Civic. Either way, New England is headed back to the playoffs, thanks to their 35-7 demolishing of the Jacksonville Jaguars today at Gillette Stadium.

Say what you want about the Patriots (and I certainly have during this inconsistent season), but they’re one of only 12 teams headed to the playoffs. No matter how they got there, not every team is lucky enough to be in the same position. Take pleasure in it New England fans, because, as we learned last year, the postseason isn’t always a guarantee.

This game didn’t start off too well. The Pats moved the ball down the field at will on the game’s first drive, only to have Laurence Maroney (Yes, I’m on back his case again.) fumble at the 1-yard line. I nearly swerved off the road and ran over a homeless hitchhiker when I heard that on the radio, but the defense held strong on the ensuing drive and the Patriot offense crushed the Jaguars’ hopes the rest of the way.

We have one week left – with a meaningless game against Houston on the horizon – and the Pats should definitely rest some of their banged-up players – Tom Brady included. No matter what happens, though, New England is back in the playoffs and that’s really what counts.

Some other thoughts from today’s Patriots game and from around the NFL:

*  Brady played like the quarterback we all know and love. It’s about time. I don’t care if he’s hurt or not. With a performance like today’s – even in a flack jacket or whatever the hell he was wearing – there are no excuses going forward. Well done, my man.

*  If Sammy Morris could only stay healthy, the Pats would have a trio of capable running backs. That’s not including Fred Taylor, of course, because I just don’t see how much of an impact he can have down the stretch after missing the majority of the season.

*  There was some speculation as to whether or not Randy Moss quit on his team following that debacle against the Carolina Panthers two weeks ago. With three more touchdown catches today, I think we have our answer.

*  From what I heard, the Patriot defense was everywhere today. They seemed to be in on every play and Maurice Jones-Drew-Johnson-Smith didn’t really do much of anything. Not bad considering Vince Wilfork and 37 other starters were out with myriad injuries. And James Sanders finally resurfaced today. I thought he was taking over for his uncle as the new president of Kentucky Fried Chicken, but apparently I was wrong.

*  It’s hard for me to admit this, but I actually like Peyton Manning – as an actor or in commercials I should add. But when the Colts lost to the Jets today, it made me quite happy. That’s hard for me to concede, by the way, because the New York Jets are one of the only teams I hate more than the Colts. I love that the Jets think they have an actual chance to go all the way now, because God knows they’re either going to lose next week at Cincy or in the first round of the playoffs. Watching Rex Ryan cry after their season-ending loss will be the best Christmas present I could ask for. Next to my authentic Marc Savard jersey, of course.

*  Did the New Orleans Saints really just lose to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers? Pardon me, for not being overly scared of the Saints now. Losing back-to-back games, especially at this point in the season, doesn’t exactly scream, “We’re going all the way.”

*  That’s certainly OK by me, though, because the Patriots are slowly rounding into the team we all thought they would be at the beginning of the season. Yes, the best they can finish is 11-5, but so what? I’d take my chances with them any day of the week at this point.

Happy holidays, everyone.

One Response to “Playoffs here we come”

  1. Santa said

    An authentic Marc Savard jersey? You must have been a very good boy this year!

Leave a Reply

 
