Ramble On Sports

Where sports, pop culture and everything else collide.

Five thoughts from Game 4 of Bruins/Sabres

Posted by bdowd625 on April 21, 2010

First thing’s first. That was one of the best hockey games I’ve seen in a long time, with the exception of the entire Olympic tournament from earlier this year. It was loaded with fast-paced, end-to-end action, so what more could you really ask for? Now, on to my five thoughts from the game.

*  I don’t care what the final outcome of this series is. Ryan Miller, in my opinion, is the best goaltender in the world right now. I didn’t think I’d see a better save than Tuukka Rask’s diving stop tonight, but all I had to do was wait another half hour for Miller to make a game-saving stop of his own, one in which he laid out to his left to keep it tied in OT. I’ll tip my cap to him any chance I get. The guy’s a stud.

*  Maybe the Bruins should just ask for a one-goal deficit to start every game. They seem to get down almost immediately, then bounce back when it matters the most. It’s definitely not good for my blood pressure, but I’ll take it as long as they keep winning.

*  I don’t think I heard the announcers call Miro Satan’s name once tonight until his power-play goal in double OT. And what a move it was from the seasoned veteran. Miller had no choice but to come out and challenge him and Satan snuck a backhander past him to send the Bruins back to Buffalo with a 3-1 advantage.

*  And now onto the penalty that led to the game-winner. Do the Sabres know how to count? 1-2-3-4-5-6, penalty! Thanks, guys. We’ll take that any day of the week and twice on Sunday. Speaking of that, you’ll be lucky if your season lasts until Sunday, but I’ll try not to get too far ahead of myself.

*  I’ve seen the Red Sox come back from an 0-3 deficit, but I really don’t see the Sabres bouncing back from this. It’s funny because when the Bruins lost in the second round last year, everyone thought it was a failure. But this year, if they advance, everyone will think it’s some kind of miracle. It’s weird how much can change in a year.

Go B’s!

Leave a Reply

 
