Ramble On Sports

Where sports, pop culture and everything else collide.

NCAA Football 11: A slacker’s review

Posted by bdowd625 on July 20, 2010

(Relax, Tim Tebow. If you’re this fired up over a video game, how are you going to stay calm long enough to perform all those circumcisions you have planned later on?)

Every now and then here at Ramble On we like to mix in something random to break up the day-to-day monotony of the sports world. Luckily (or unluckily) for you, this is one of those times.

I’ll start out by saying I’m a huge video game nerd. I’m also 25 years old and still living at home, so my life is essentially the perfect script for Failure to Launch 2. But I digress. The truth is video games have been a part of my life since around the age of 5, and it amazes me to see how far they’ve come in the last 20 years. I’ve watched graphically-challenged Super Mario Brothers turn into a masterpiece like the one above, NCAA Football 11. To say it plainly, technology kicks ass.

I’m not really big into football video games, but I figured I’d pick up a copy of NCAA 11 because I heard good things. And because I like wasting money that I should be putting into my savings account. While my bottom line continues to suffer, my gameplaying experience has been rewarded. There’s much to love about NCAA Football 11, with its crystal-clear graphics, extraordinary sound and engaging gameplay. It captures the atmosphere of college football perfectly, and as anyone who has ever been around the sport knows, that’s a pretty cool feat.

There’s one particular mode in NCAA 11 that really captured my attention: Road to Glory. Yes, this mode is hosted by the ravishing Erin Andrews, but it also has… um… I’m thinking… um… Sorry about that. I’m focused again. Anyway, RTG allows you to create yourself as a player as you go from a high school standout to a college phenom at the position of your choice. How old do you have to be before creating yourself in a video game is immature, you ask? Let’s just go with 26 for the sake of the argument.

NCAA 11 does a great job of making you feel like you’re actually a high school star, as you receive scholarship offers from all the major college football programs. My character opted to sign with Notre Dame since they guaranteed him the starting quarterback job as a freshman. (By the way, did I mention I have a job and a girlfriend? I swear it’s true.) In any event, I’m excited to embark on my journey through the college ranks as I try to get Notre Dame back to its football glory days.

So call me whatever you want, whether it be nerd, loser, geek or slacker. But you know you’d have just as much trouble shutting off Erin Andrews as I did.

One Response to “NCAA Football 11: A slacker’s review”

  1. Mother with 'th' said

    I think I’ll call you a nerd and a geek, but I could never call you a loser or a slacker. Very funny…

Leave a Reply

 
