Ramble On Sports

Where sports, pop culture and everything else collide.

Brett Favre retires…AGAIN.

Posted by bdowd625 on August 3, 2010

We here at Ramble On, in our infinite resourcefulness and tenacity, have acquired a copy of Brett Favre’s latest retirement speech, which he will read at an upcoming press conference. We’ve decided to print the speech in its entirety because, frankly, we don’t give a rat’s ass about stealing Favre’s thunder. Enjoy, everyone.

To my family, friends, the entire Minnesota Vikings organization and NFL fans everywhere,

I stand before you today to announce my 15th and final retirement from the game of football. It took much deliberation, but I have decided, along with the help of my Magic 8 Ball, that I simply can no longer perform at the level to which I have grown accustomed in my illustrious career. I have tried in recent months to get back into game shape, but have found that my body and mind simply can not handle another grueling season in the NFL. Throwing to pathetic high schoolers in Mississippi during the summer is one thing; staring down 6-foot-5, 260-pound linebackers at frigid Soldier Field in Chicago is certainly another.

With those things in mind, I have decided to return to the Vikings for another season. I still have a lot left to offer this team and, after talking it over with several of my teammates and head coach Brad Childress, it makes sense for me to come back and make another run at the Super Bowl. Last year’s loss to the New Orleans Saints in the NFC title game left a bitter taste in my mouth, and I feel it is my obligation to the Minnesota fans to lay it all on the line one more time. My arm still has a lot of bullets left in it, so I know this is the right move for me and the organization.

Having said that, I truly believe that walking away from the game is the smartest bet. I’m in my 40s now and I really want to be with my family more, as well as shoot a few new Wrangler Jeans commercials. I hope you all understand how difficult this has been for me and how thankful I am to have your support in this matter. I’ll never forget the memories I’ve made on the gridiron and look forward to making plenty of new ones in the next phase of my life.

Thank you and God bless. I’ll see you for the season-opener at New Orleans on Sept. 9.

Sincerely,

Brett Favre

 

Leave a Reply

 
