Ramble On Sports

Where sports, pop culture and everything else collide.

WEEI vs. 98.5 The Sports Hub – Who ya got?

Posted by bdowd625 on August 10, 2010

There was a great article in yesterday’s Boston Globe about the ongoing battle between WEEI and 98.5 The Sports Hub, the two sports radio powers in the region. Apparently The Hub has stolen a lot of the old establishment’s listeners since hitting the airwaves a year ago, leaving WEEI to fudge some of its ratings numbers. I can’t tell you how happy this whole thing makes me. I absolutely LOATHE Dennis & Callahan and The Big Show with Glenn Ordway, two staples in WEEI’s lineup that I think everyone would be better off without.

WEEI’s only saving grace, in my opinion, is the midday show, Dale & Holley. Dale Arnold might be a know-nothing blowhard, but Michael Holley is all right in my book. He has the newspaper background and inside contacts that make him much more knowledgable than his counterpart. Other than that, I’ve officially converted into a Sports Hub believer. They’re funnier, less political and they don’t act like they’re better than everyone that calls into the station. It’s a breath of a fresh air and I hope they continue to swindle listeners from The Dark Side.

What are your thoughts?

3 Responses to “WEEI vs. 98.5 The Sports Hub – Who ya got?”

  1. Ryan said

    I only like certain guys from both stations. All other hosts are extremly annoying. But what has turned me off from listening to sports radio are the callers. I’d say the majority have no idea what they are talking about and just wanna hear themselves on the radio. I’d rather hear from different sports reporters discuss sports like they do on comcast then listen to “Joe from Boston” who wants the sox to trade Daniel Nava for Albert Pujols.

  2. Matt Jose said

    While I think Nava for Pujols is not only entertaining but fun to think about, I’d like to vote for EEI because they still get the majority of better callers. Time and time again, I’ll tune into the Sports Hub (lame ass name btw) and turn it right off because the callers suck.

    Mike Monanski is also a good listen.

  3. alpinestars motorcycle gloves…

    […]WEEI vs. 98.5 The Sports Hub – Who ya got? « Ramble On Sports[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
