Ramble On Sports

Where sports, pop culture and everything else collide.

So long, sweet summer…

Posted by bdowd625 on September 7, 2010

I’m officially waving goodbye to the 2010 Boston Red Sox tonight. Like most of my fellow Sox fans out there, I’ve known for a while now that this team had a snowball’s chance in hell of making the playoffs. And yet somehow I kept getting sucked back in, night in and night out. That infuriating trend ends tonight.

When the Sox needed a big outing from Daisuke Matsuzaka against the Rays, they got nothing. It’s so typical of this team, which always seemed on the cusp of making a breakthrough only to let it slide by the wayside. I suppose it’s a good thing that Matsuzaka got shelled tonight because the Sox were foolishly thinking of starting Clay Buchholz on three days rest tomorrow. Yeah, let’s jeopardize the future of our best starter just to have John Lackey choke away the momentum a few days later. I’m getting angry just sitting here.

With that said, it’s time for me to let go of this baseball season and look forward to the Patriots, Bruins and Celtics, all of whom will be returning in the next two months. As much as it pains me to kiss summer goodbye, it’s really the only logical choice left. Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go join BK1015 for a beer. He had the Sox pegged from the get-go. Suits me right for being an optimist.

P.S. Did anyone hear Terry Francona’s interview on WEEI’s The Dale & Holley Show last Wednesday? He was being an impatient prick who simply didn’t want to face the fact that he’s been a mediocre manager at best this season. Can’t wait for more whining out of him on tomorrow’s show.

Leave a Reply

 
